Leave a comment

“are YE able”

The song named “are ye able” came to mind this morning as I was reading my devotions, which brings this phrase to mind in the following scriptures-

“But Jesus answered and said, Ye know not what ye ask. Are ye able to drink of the cup that I shall drink of, and too be baptized with the baptism that I am baptized with? They say unto him, We are able.         [Matthew 20:22]

And I myself also am persuaded of you, my brethren, that ye also are full of goodness, filled with all knowledge, able also to admonish one another.     [Romans 15: 13-15]

I have fed you with milk, and not with meat: for hitherto ye were not able to bear it, neither yet now are ye able.    [I Corinthians 3:1-3]

There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.    [I Corintians 10:12-14]

Song:   Verse 1–  are ye able, said the Master, to be crucified with me? yea, the sturdy dreamers awswered, to the death we follow thee.

chorus:   Music Basics

moms gift to me?

moms gift to me?

 Lord, we are able. Our spirits are thine. Remold them, make us, like thee, divine. Thy guiding radiance above us shall be, a beacon to God, to love, and loyalty.

Verse 2are ye able to remember, when a thief lifts up his eyes, that his pardoned soul is worthy, of a place in paradise?

Verse 3- are ye able when the shadows, close around you with the sod, to believe that spirit triumphs to commend your soul to God?

Verse 4-  are ye able? still the Master whispers down eternity, and heroic spirits answer, now as then in Galilee.

Leave a Reply

