3 Comments

“cast the first stone”

The “stone” rolled away from the tomb of Jesus does not cause the problems it did for the Jewish leaders, but gives to us a blessed assurance of Jesus being ever present in our life. It is no wonder we enjoy singing our “alleluias” at Easter and each day of our life.

my rock

what type of stones are their?

 The stone of despair: at times people proclaim there is no hope for them in life, no God? their sin lies  heavy upon them; their guilt oppresses  them, their goodness never enough. God will never accept me….I am too sinful; I have strayed too often-Jesus’  resurrection proclaims: “though your sins be as scarlet you shall be as white as snow”–[Isaiah 1:18]–Jesus’ resurrection is a blessed assurance of our forgiveness won for us upon HIS cross.

The stone of disouragement: what is the point of living? nothing ever works out the way I would like it….it seems as if God is far from me, it seems he never hears my cry? I am doomed to live a life that will never work out.  Jesus’ resurrection proclaims I am with you; I will help and support you, remember HIS words- “come unto me all you that are weary and heavy laden and I will give you rest”–[Matthew 11:28]–He will do that for us, for he lies not in death in a grave, rather the tomb is empty; He is ALIVE and able and ready to help us.

Peace, Peace Be Still...

Peace, Peace Be Still…

The stone of doubt: is it really true? does Jesus death mean life for me? can I trust and have confidence in God’s love because of Jesus’ death and resurrection? Jesus’ resurrection proclaims “have no doubts only believe”. Is not this the quote Jesus told Thomas?   “Thomas because you have seen me, you believe: blessed are those who have not seen and yet believe”–[John 20:29]–“I am alive” Jesus says “because I live, you also shall live. My resurrection is evidence of that truth”.

The stone of defeat: I cannot win the struggles in my life, so why should I even dare to believe that I could escape from the grave? it will hold me forever. Jesus’ resurrection proclaims the power of death is broken; it no longer has the sting it claims to have , we can say confidently- “death where is your sting,  grave where is your victory? thanks be to God who gives us the victory through Jesus Christ”. –[I Corinthians 15:55-57]–

                  V.O.T.D–  “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven”  Ecclesiastes 3:1

3 comments on ““cast the first stone”

  1. Your idea of relating stones to your “D’s” and the connection to how they were used in Biblical times got me to thinking. Thanks for the mind-rabbit-trail.

Leave a Reply

